Open debate of DPM and BEM FMIPA candidates, Tri Wahyu Basuki, SE: “This is an exercise in student leadership for the future”

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News
  • Reading time:4 mins read

Friday (11/15), Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences UB held an Open Debate to kick off the annual democratic party, namely the election of the President of the Student Executive Board (BEM) and the Student Representative Council (DPM) or known as the Student Representative Election (Pemilwa). This debate aims to show the ideas possessed by prospective leaders to be chosen. The event was opened by the MC at 2 pm and began with remarks by the Dean who was initiated by the Head of Subdivision of Student Affairs, Tri Wahyu Basuki, SE. He expressed his congratulations to fight for the candidates for President and BEM representatives as well as DPM FMIPA. “UB’s democratic party is a means to become a student leadership exercise in the future”, said Tri Wahyu Basuki, SE.   After being opened by the MC, the event continued with the delivery of the vision and mission of the DPM candidates then continued with the BEM candidates. FMIPA DPM candidate list consists of: (1) M. Nazli Nashri Geophysical Engineering 2017, (2) M. Raihan Ekaputra I. Instrumentation 2018, (3) Yuniar Ayuningtyas Geophysical Engineering 2018, (4) Richo Tambunan Physics 2017, (5) Ichda Arini Dinana Biology 2018, (6) Surani Ulfa Physics 2017. The candidates for President and Vice President of BEM FMIPA are (1) Katon Jaya Saputra Kimia 2017 and Yasinta Almaysuri Biology 2017 (2) M. Iqna Supriatna Kimia 2017 and Zidane Ariyandy Statistics 2017.

The Candidate Debate is divided into 2 sessions, each consisting of 5 segments, first is the introduction of candidates, the delivery of vision and mission followed by the submission of questions by panelists (in this case the dean) to respond to each candidate. The committee gives candidates 90 seconds to answer questions. The third segment is the interaction between candidates that contains questions of candidates to other candidates. The next segment is giving questions to candidates by the audience and responded to by the candidates. The last segment is the submission of closing statements by each candidate with a time of 60 seconds.   Panelists asked questions about student affairs. The question is about the attitude of the candidates about the resignation of some FMIPA students in the past. The next question about student activeness strategies in the student environment.

“My strategy to increase student activity is to do branding, introduce the benefits of every student activity especially students, presentations of student activity unit programs so that full information will be obtained and become a motivation for activities in the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences”, said Ichda Arini Dinana Biology 2018 (candidate number 5 DPM).   Panelists’ questions that drew the attention of the candidates were about the lack of appreciation from the academic community for student activities. This is in the form of a lack of smooth disbursement of activity funds, as well as permission for activities from lecturers who support lectures. This is indeed felt to be quite inhibiting students in developing activity in the campus environment. This was revealed by M. Nazli Nashri Geophysical Engineering 2017 (Candidate for DPM No.1). He explained that students sometimes had difficulty asking for permission not to go to college because they had taken part in campus activities.

“If the academic community supports students to do activities, then the output will definitely return to FMIPA, in this case if we win the competition, FMIPA will be proud and the rating will increase,” said Yuniar Ayuningtyas Geophysical Engineering 2018 (DPM Candidate No. 3).

As a series of ELECTION and PEMIRA events, the debate of the candidates this time is considered sufficient to help the community in the UB Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences to get complete information in channeling their aspirations at the UB democratic party (Yogie).